Search and verify licenses
Sample Nevada Private Investigator License

Nevada Private Investigator License

In nearly all the states in the US detectives are in increasingly high demand. They perform vital tasks such as fraud inspection. Therefore, if you are interested in working legally as an investigator for yourself or you want to own a business in you have to get a Nevada Private Investigator License. Nonetheless, before you obtain your certification, you must meet the Licensing Board’s (PILB) requirements.

Please, keep reading the article, if you are interested to learn about the regulations.

General Requirements

The board requires you to meet these expectations to be qualified as a detective:

  • Age: at least 21 years old
  • Citizenship: a citizen of the United States or legally authorized to remain and work in the US.
  • Have good moral character and temperate habits
  • Good legal history: you have to have no felony convictions that involve possession of dangerous weapons
  • Background checks: You have to go through a criminal history background check conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), and the NV Department of Public Safety
  • Examination: pass the exam with a score of at least 75% (this requirement is only for individual applicants and qualified agent candidates)
  • Experience: 10,000 hours of work

Note: In case you want to start your business, you may need NV Business License.

Education and Experience for Nevada Private Investigator License

The Board requires applicants to have the necessary experience to get the certification. You are going to get the experience for over 5 years, with 2,000 hours annually. On the other hand, the applicant may satisfy some of these obligations through a college program in criminal justice or police science as follows:

  • an associate’s degree in criminal justice or police science is equal to 8 months (1,333 hrs.)
  • bachelor’s degree in the aforementioned program equals 18 months (3,000 hrs.)

Application

Upon reassuring that you meet the minimum requirements of the PILB, you will be able to apply for the permit.

Along with the completed form, you must also provide the following:

  • application processing fee of $20 (no refundable)
  • examination fee of $100
  • background deposit of $75.

If you are a Nevada resident, the total cost for you is going to be no more than $1500

Likewise, other documents that you need to consider are:

  • A formal or passport-style photo
  • Copy of your birth certificate, and/or passport
  • Filled out child support information form (if applicable)
  • Certificate of Good Standing
  • Certificate of Incorporation from the state you have revied it (for corporation permits only)

The permit expires on June 30th annually. Hence, to maintain it you must renew it each year between May 15th and June 30th. The fee is $500.

Nevada Private Investigator License Examination

Upon applying the necessary documents to the committee and receiving approval, you ought to take a test. There are 100 questions and the committee will give you two hours to complete them. Moreover, the test might include multiple-choice, true/false, as well as fill-in-the-blank questions. If you fail the test, you will need to pay $100 to retake it.

PILB card

If you are interested in working in Las Vegas as a security guard, you need to get a card. The letter allows you to be employed in the private security industry and provide guard services at Las Vegas businesses.

In conclusion, if you wish to become a qualified detective, you should comply with the instructions that this article provides.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State